3.3.4 Intel Atom (945GME chipset) Netbook Zen Kernel compiled on Linux Mint 12 LXDE

Posted: April 28, 2012 in Linux
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Features:
1. Up-to-date kernel (as at 29 Apr 2012)
2. Customised for Toshiba NB205 netbook (945GME chipset) – should work for other Atom netbooks with similar hardware
3. BFS scheduler, BFQ/CFQ selectable IO scheduler
4. Faster start-up/boot time (by about 15% compared to standard kernel using hard disks – more if using SSD’s)
5. Aiming to be more power efficient than standard kernel
6. Aiming for smoother overall experience than standard kernel

Downloads:
.config
kernel headers and image

To use:
1. Extract to any directory using 7-Zip
2. Open terminal window
3. cd {extracted directory}
4. sudo dpkg -i *3.3.4*zen*mntlx*.deb
5. Reboot

To uninstall:
1. Boot into any other kernel
2. Open terminal window
3. sudo apt-get purge linux-image-3.3.4-zen-mntlx-cfq linux-headers-3.3.4-zen-mntlx-cfq
4. Reboot

Patches:
http://downloads.zen-kernel.org/snapshots/v3.2_master.diff.gz (2012-Apr-28 04:38:19 snapshot)

Note:
Kernel defaults to using CFQ IO scheduler.
Add elevator=bfq in Kernel command line to use BFQ IO scheduler instead without recompiling.

Credits to:
dametz from Liquorix; Zen kernel developers & Pappy (Kernel Seeds) for initial .config seed; dieghen89 (kernel-netbook project) for BFQ tip.

Disclaimer:
Kernels are provided on an “as is basis” and not guaranteed to work on all netbooks (too many variations in hardware). Suggest to only use kernels compiled for your current distribution/version.

Comments
  1. rgray318 says:

    Any reason why I shouldn’t test this on Ubuntu 12 or EasyPeasy 2.0? I have a Asus 1005HAB with an Atom N270 and 945GME chipset. Just curious what your thoughts are. Looking to get every bit of performance I can. Machine has a 32gb OCZ Vertex SSD and upgraded to 2GB of memory and its still a dog with anything other than the original XP which I hate using on it. EDIT: Just tested and it errors out with a 240 “unsupported hardware” message. Any ideas that might help run this on this Netbook by chance? TIA Rod

    • pateo says:

      Usually best to use a kernel compiled for a specific distro as the libraries across different distributions may vary (even for similar ‘buntu based distro’s – N.B. Mint 12 is based on Oneiric). On Ubuntu 12 – try pasting the results of lscpci -n in reply to this comment.

      • rgray318 says:

        skorpn@skorpneee:~$ lspci -n
        00:00.0 0600: 8086:27ac (rev 03)
        00:02.0 0300: 8086:27ae (rev 03)
        00:02.1 0380: 8086:27a6 (rev 03)
        00:1b.0 0403: 8086:27d8 (rev 02)
        00:1c.0 0604: 8086:27d0 (rev 02)
        00:1c.1 0604: 8086:27d2 (rev 02)
        00:1d.0 0c03: 8086:27c8 (rev 02)
        00:1d.1 0c03: 8086:27c9 (rev 02)
        00:1d.2 0c03: 8086:27ca (rev 02)
        00:1d.3 0c03: 8086:27cb (rev 02)
        00:1d.7 0c03: 8086:27cc (rev 02)
        00:1e.0 0604: 8086:2448 (rev e2)
        00:1f.0 0601: 8086:27b9 (rev 02)
        00:1f.2 0106: 8086:27c5 (rev 02)
        01:00.0 0280: 168c:002b (rev 01)

  2. rgray318 says:

    oops, guess I should at least say thanks for taking a look lol. I like LM 12, but I really like easypeasy 2.0 best on this machine. Just tried it a third time and it just sits at the black boot screen with those two Linux penguins. I would think there isn’t much difference between our machines haha. Ok well thanks again for your suggestions. Rod

    • rgray318 says:

      NVM Pateo, I am just going to go back to LM 12 LXDE and test this kernel from there and see if it provides the extra smoothness and battery efficiency I am looking for. Thanks again… Rod

  3. rgray318 says:

    pateo, is there a difference between zen and liquorix kernels that I am somehow missing? Yeah I have not had Ubuntu 12 installed in a while. However, I had EP2.0a installed and LOVED it over the past few days (after getting utterly sick and tired at win7’s super slow-mo attitude lol). EP made me feel like I found a distro that properly fit my 10″ screen and at the same time ran great to my surprise for an alpha. My eyes are not all that good these days so I prefer that Gnome Shell Unity type of UI with the icons popping out from the left side of the screen and Ubuntu is just to slow for me. The icons make it easier for me to quickly select what I want to do. With LM12 LXDE I have to squint just to see the start menu thingy. However, it runs great on my EeePC especially with your optimized kernel 3.3.4. Now, one last question, should I do any tweaking for my old 32gb Vertex SSD that this distro is running on? TIA Rod

    • pateo says:

      Source code behind Zen/Liquorix kernel should be same as it’s developed by the same person (Steven Barrett). The 3.3.4 Liquorix kernel was compiled on Mint 12 LXDE which is based on Ubuntu Oneiric (11.10). The 3.3.4 Zen kernel was compiled on Lubuntu 12 which is based on Ubuntu Precise Pangolin (12.04). In this case the Zen kernel “should” work with EP2.0a since it’s also based on 12.04 (it’s still an alpha build though so …). SSD’s are SATA drives so they “should” work without much tweaking. The only issue is TRIM support which doesn’t require any special kernel configuration AFAIK – this site may be of interest.

      • rgray318 says:

        Thanks for the information. I am quite proficient with tweaking my ssd since I have invested in them ever since OCZ released their very first Vertex drives (Im a hardware enthusiast nut). The reason I asked if I should do any tweaking is because I was under the impression that Linux kernels 3.2+ are becoming much more SSD friendly. However, after taking a look myself I have noticed that some of the more important tweaks for SSD’s are still not set by default, noop or deadline over cfq, etc (Yes I know this kernel is set to CFQ by default, however I was hoping the kernel would automagically notice that this machine only has a small 32gb SSD and set the proper scheduler and discard option by default). Maybe its the fact that SSD’s are maturing more and more and probably need less and less tweaking to optimize for these days. Oh, and somehow I had myself believing that LM12 was based on 12.04, so there is my first error in regards to why Liquorix did not run on EP2.0a (However, there is a zen 3.3.4 that was compiled on pangolin 12.04 that I should probably try). By the way, I just discovered Cinnamon UI 1.4 yesterday as I was looking for something slightly easier for me to see and I like it a lot so I may just stick with LM12 until 13 arrives, or do some more playing around and see if zen works on EP2.0a (alpha or not it runs a optimized netbook kernel 3.2 by default and ran nearly flawlessly for me). Thanks to Cinnamon UI I might even install LM on my main rig haha. Wish I would have discovered that UI sooner ;).. Thanks again pateo, and thanks for posting these netbook optimized kernels for us to download. Rod

      • pateo says:

        Cheers rgray318 and thanks for the comments.

Leave a Reply

