Kernel.org 2.6.38.4 kernel with Kernel-Netbook Project & BFS 0.401 patches compiled on Lubuntu 11.04

Posted: May 1, 2011 in Linux
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

.config
kernel headers and image

To use:
1. Extract to any directory using 7-Zip
2. cd {extracted directory}
3. sudo dpkg -i *38.4*ck3*lnat*401*.deb
4. Reboot

Credits to:
dieghen89 from Kernel-Netbook Project

Patches:
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=34625

Note:

Does not include broadcom, syntek external firmware, TuxOnIce patch

For very slow wifi issues with 2.6.38 kernel and systems with Atheros wifi chipsets – create a text file /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf with options ath9k nohwcrypt=1 as contents, save and reboot. Credits to initial reporter somewhere online.

Comments
  1. acrazyplayer says:

    Thanks for this, it saved me a lot of time to compile my own.

    The kernel that was included in 11.04 had some strange behavior while booting and would do just about nothing for the first 7 seconds but now I installed this and I get a boot time of 3.88 seconds according to bootchart πŸ™‚

    Once again thanks!

    • pateo says:

      Welcome – that’s some SSD you’ve got …

      • acrazyplayer says:

        In case your wondering the SSD I have is a OCZ Vertex 2 and my processor is a Q6600. If I could go back in time though I think I would have bought the RealSSD from Corsair instead but oh well.

        For some reason my adblocker got turned off for this page only, ghostery no longer blocks certain things and my pointer finger really wanted to click πŸ˜‰

        Keep up the good work.

  2. acrazyplayer says:

    oops I meant Crucial not Corsair lol

    • pateo says:

      Thanks for the SSD suggestion – might look into it as a replacement for the standard HD that came with the Toshiba NB205 netbook the kernel usually runs on.

  3. […] to this blog post for the fix. However, nobody seems to know why this works. Furthermore, I do not know whether there […]

    • pateo says:

      Issue occurred after upgrading to 2.6.38 kernel (regardless whether on Natty/Maverick) so it’s most likely some problem with the atheros kernel driver (quite a few launchpad bug reports about it). Suggest trying the other recommended option from forums to update drivers using compat-wireless – early testing seems promising this end.

  4. greendv says:

    I was looking for a way to fix wifi of my Asus UL30A with Linux Mint 11 (2.6.38 kernel). And your hint did the trick. So thank you very much! πŸ™‚

  5. […] to this blog post for the fix. However, nobody seems to know why this works. Furthermore, I do not know whether there […]

Leave a Reply

